Endangered Animals in the Wet Tropics of Queensland

by Lauren Corona
The loggerhead turtle is an endangered species in the Wet Tropics of Queensland.

The loggerhead turtle is an endangered species in the Wet Tropics of Queensland.

Stockbyte/Stockbyte/Getty Images

The Wet Tropics of Queensland stretches 280 miles along the northeast coast of Australia, covering an area of more than 2 million acres. Composed mostly of tropical rainforests, it has amazing biodiversity. Unfortunately, due to factors such as changing fire regimes and forest clearing that cause loss of habitat, a number of animal species that live in the Wet Tropics have become endangered.


According to the Nature Conservation Act 1992, seven endangered mammal species live in the Wet Tropics of Queensland. These are the northern bettong, the spotted-tailed quoll, the Semon`s leaf-nosed bat, the mahogany glider, the Sharman’s rock-wallaby, the greater large-eared horseshoe bat and the bare-rumped sheathtail bat. The NCA list five mammals as vulnerable. Under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999, the Wet Tropics Management Authority has put recovery plans in place to help several mammals, including the mahogany glider and the northern bettong.


Six species of birds in the Wet Tropics are designated as endangered by the NCA. These are the regent honeyeater, the southern cassowary, the red goshawk, the Gouldian finch, the white rumped subspecies of the black-throated finch, and the little tern. In addition, the NCA calls 11 bird species vulnerable. The WTMA is currently executing a recovery plan for the southern cassowary under the guidelines of the EPCA act.


Three endangered reptile species live in the Wet Tropics of Queensland, according to the NCA. These are the loggerhead turtle, the leatherback turtle and the Gulbaru gecko. An additional 11 reptile species are considered threatened by the NCA. These include the flatback turtle and the hawksbill turtle. Turtle species are particularly susceptible to the degradation of habitat caused by escaped aquatic plants from people's homes.


The number of amphibian species listed as endangered by the NCA is seven. These species are the little waterfall frog, the waterfall frog, the mountain mistfrog, the common mistfrog, the Australian lacelid, the sharp snouted dayfrog, and the northern tinkerfrog. There are six more species of amphibians that are listed as threatened. The WTMA has put a recovery plan into effect that will improve the habitats of the stream dwelling rainforest frogs of the Wet Tropics

    Photo Credits

    • Stockbyte/Stockbyte/Getty Images


    Lauren Corona has worked as a writer since 2010. She has penned articles for a range of websites and print publications, specializing in animal care, nature, music and vegan food. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in English and American literature, and a postgraduate diploma in print journalism.